Every site administrator has the ability to activate and de-activate site users (in addition to adding new users) according to their specific needs. At a very high level, the need to de-activate mainly arises because a learner no longer needs access to the microsite. Each microsite belongs to a certain plan which dictates the maximum number of allowed active users. The site administrator would then want to free up this user license so that it can be assigned to another user. Once a user is deactivated, the slot can then be used by the admin for a new user or activation of a previously deactivated user.
Accessing the Site Users List
Using menu option Users -> View users
Activate an Inactive User
Access the site user list using the View Users menu item and then filter for inactive users by selecting the Inactive Users checkbox. Select the resulting inactive users by using a combination of the checkboxes present in the user list and then activate them using the Activate button present at the bottom of the list.
Deactivating Active Users (Manual process)
Users can be manually deactivated from the microsite in three different ways:
1. Deactivation of Users (from site users list)
Users can be deactivated by going to the site users page and using the Deactivate option available in Choose an Action button at the bottom. A user can also be deactivated by going inside the user edit page and then using the Deactivate button available in the User Information tab. Users get deactivated immediately and can no longer access the microsite.
2. Bulk deactivation of users
Users can be deactivated by going to the Upload Users page and using a CSV file. Users get deactivated immediately and cannot access the microsite anymore.
CSV file format - UserName, Status
Note: Make sure to check the "Update existing users" checkbox as shown in the image above.
3. Specifying End Date for a User
If a user's site access end date is known to the administrator, then the date can be specified for the user by using the Set End Date button. The user's site access will be blocked after the end date, but the user's account will remain active.
If the 'Auto deactivate learners ' setting is enabled in the site, the user(s) would get automatically deactivated on the specified dates. This method can be used to deactivate users of any type of role (admin/instructor/learner).
Please note: The user's end date can be updated to extend the user's site access but the end date can't be removed.
4. Automatic Deactivation
A learner can also be deactivated from the site automatically once the learner's access to all course sessions ends. For this to happen, the learner must have been enrolled in at least one course session which has the max subscription days set. This ensures that the enrolled member has an end date for that course session. This, combined with the Site Security option Auto deactivate learners, would trigger the deactivation of the user once the end date of course session membership has been reached for the user.
When the system automatically deactivates a user due to one of the above conditions being met, the deactivated user is sent an email informing him/her about the non-accessibility of the site. The site administrators would have access to this information through Site Admin -> Email Notifications and category filtered as USER_INACTIVATE.